Vietnam

My friend Courtney and I have been toying with the idea of visiting Asia for a while now. Both being students, our budgets are small, so we needed a country that would offer loads of excitement and adventure at a price we could afford!

After reading 10 Reasons to Love Hanoi, an article written by Annapurna Mellor for one of my favourite female travel bloggers, Travelettes, the cogs started turning for me. Why had this not clicked before? Vietnam would be my next destination!

13b4fa0d129c7c3cbdb3870cb5b59840

So I called up Courtney and we decided on the kind of adventure we both wanted and what compromises we were happy to make in order to make it the best for both of us.

In the end, we decided to go for a group tour, picking trusty Topdeck Travel’s Vietnam Uncovered package.  This would provide us with a group of fun-loving travellers to make friends with, give us the best value for money in order to get as many activities in, and give Courtney peace of mind that we wouldn’t be swindled out of our money seeing as Topdeck Travel has a long history of reliability.

Of course I immediately consulted various Instagram feeds, blogs, and Pinterest boards to inspire me and get a better idea of what was awaiting me.

Thanks to decided on a pre-planned trip, our itinerary, accommodation, and internal travel arrangements are all organised. All we have left to do is visas and vaccinations, and our flights from South Africa to Vietnam.

For information about vaccinations, I always CDC‘s and the SA International Relations and Cooperation‘s websites. They provide all the information you could need.  As a South African, there are no compulsory vaccinations, but Hep A, Tetanis, and Malaria vaccinations are recommended.

Another thing that excites me about Vietnam, other than their rich history, beautiful country, and completely different traditions to what i am familiar with, is their coffee culture. Anyone who knows me knows that I am completely addicted to coffee. So trying out another country’s coffee practices fits right in there on my to-do list in Vietnam!

 

**Disclaimer: None of these pictures are my own. They were all sources from Pinterest.

Leave a comment